Events

CALL FOR NOMINATIONS FOR THE 1993 METTLER AWARD IN THERMAL ANALYSIS

The North American Thermal Analysis Society (NATAS) welcomes nominations for the 1993 Mettler Award in Thermal Analysis. This annual award, sponsored by the Mettler Instrument Corporation, consists of a certificate, a \$2000.00 honorarium and a travel allowance to the 22nd NATAS Conference in Dever, Co. (September 19-22, 1993)

The award recognizes and encourages distinguished service to the field of dynamic thermal analysis, including but not restricted to thermogravimetry, differential thermal methods and effluent gas analysis. The nominee must have performed outstanding work in the craetion or refinement of thermal analysis techniques of generally wide interest during the preceding five years.

The previous recipients of the Mettler Award are:

1969 Robert L. Stone 1970 Wesley W. Wendlandt 1971 Bernhard Wunderlich

1968 R. C. Mackenzie

1971 Bernhard Wunderlich 1972 Ferenc and Jenö Paulik

1973 Edward M. Barrall, III

1974 Jaroslaw Šesták 1975 Frank E, Karasz

1976 Patrick K. Gallagher

1977 H. Kambe

1978 John. K. Gilham

1979 David Dollimore

1980 Joseph H. Flynn 1981 Takeo Ozawa

1982 Jen Chiu

1983 Roger S. Porter 1984 Leo Madelkern

1985 Edith A. Turi

1986 Hans G. Wiedemann

1980 Hans G. Wiedemann

1987 Harvey Bair

1988 Jean Rouquerol

1989 R. Bruce Prime 1990 Vladimir Balek

1990 Viadimir Balek 1901 Iulian E Janhaa

1991 Julian F. Jonhson

1992 Howard W. Starkweather, Jr.

2560 EVENTS

Nominations should include a description of the accomplishments of the nominee that are relevant to the Mettler Award. Nominations will be accepted through December 31, 1992.

Nominations should be sent to:

Ms. Susan M. Dyszel U.S. Customs Service 1301 Constitution Ave, NW Room 7113 Washington, DC 20229 EVENTS 2561

EUROSTAR TO THE PRESS

EUROSTAR is born

The foundation of a new scientific society took place in June 1992. The "European Society for Thermal Analysis, Calorimetry, Thermodynamics and Chemical Reactivity" with the acronym EUROSTAR will anticipate scientific and technological progress within these branches of interest. This new Society will be the link between all involved natural sciences, especially inorganic, organic and physical chemistry, physics, solid state and material sciences, biochemistry, biology and ecological chemistry. EUROSTAR plans activities concerning subjects from areas such as research, development and production, including basic investigations as well as instrumentation and quality control. The support and education of young scientists and also the further education of scientists and specialists in industry, are major goals of the new Society. EUROSTAR will carry out its activities in the entire European area. It will support all the activities of national and regional societies regarging the promotion of common interest. The scientific and technological cooperation in the areas of the "Europe of Regions" will be given special attention.

The Society, which is now in an initial stage, is based in Freiburg in Breisgau, Germany.

Experts and scientists from industry, universities, technical high schools and research institutes, who are interested in the goals and activities of EUROSTAR, as well as societies and standing committees, can obtain information regarging membership from the president of EUROSTAR at the address given below.

Dr. E. Marti

CIBA-GEIGY AG K-127.5.56 CH-4002 BASEL

Tel: 0041 61 696 53 48

Fax: 0041 61 696 93 04